clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Lindy's Sports Unveils Big Ten Projections for 2020-21

NCAA Basketball: Purdue at Iowa Jeffrey Becker-USA TODAY Sports

With the basketball season rapidly approaching the season preview magazines should start filtering into the newstands over the next few weeks. First to the punch is Lindy’s Sports College Basketball preview.

The Big Ten season didn’t get to finish last season and there’s plenty of turnover across the board so it should be an interesting season this winter. Will Rutgers and Penn State be able to continue their recent success? Will Iowa and Illinois be able to take control of the Big Ten after returning loaded teams? How will Wisconsin fare? Will Michigan State bounce back from several key departures?

The projections Lindy’s Sports has for the Big Ten can be seen below, with their predictions of which team will end up in the NCAA Tournament:

  1. Wisconsin Badgers (Elite 8)
  2. Iowa Hawkeyes (Sweet 16)
  3. Illinois Fighting Illini (Sweet 16)
  4. Michigan State Spartans (Round of 32)
  5. Ohio State Buckeyes (Round of 32)
  6. Rutgers Scarlet Knights (One and Done)
  7. Indiana Hoosiers (One and Done)
  8. Michigan Wolverines
  9. Minnesota Golden Gophers
  10. Purdue Boilermakers
  11. Maryland Terrapins
  12. Penn State Nittany Lions
  13. Northwestern Wildcats
  14. Nebraska Cornhuskers

It’ll be interesting to see a season with Michigan, Maryland and Purdue all out of the postseason and in the back half of the conference. Also, it appears Lindy’s is ducking the trendy pick of Iowa or Illinois to go for a somewhat safer Wisconsin prediction. It should be noted that the mag actually doesn’t list Indiana in the field on their preview page, but in an earlier listing of the 68 teams they project in they include the Hoosiers in the tournament.

The All-Big Ten teams can also be seen below.

First Team All-Conference

  • Ayo Dosunmu (Illinois)
  • Marcus Carr (Minnesota)
  • Trayce Jackson-Davis (Indiana)
  • Nate Reuvers (Wisconsin)
  • Luka Garza (Iowa)

Second Team All-Conference

  • Joe Wieskamp (Iowa)
  • Rocket Watts (Michigan State)
  • Trevion Williams (Purdue)
  • Aaron Henry (Michigan State)
  • Kofi Cockburn (Illinois)

Third Team All-Conference

  • Ron Harper Jr. (Rutgers)
  • D’Mitrik Trice (Wisconsin)
  • E.J. Liddell (Ohio State)
  • Seth Towns (Ohio State)
  • Joey Hauser (Michigan State)