clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Several Big Ten Players Highlighted in Award Watch Lists

The Big Ten had several players named to watch lists for both the Jerry West and Bob Cousy Awards.

NCAA Basketball: Illinois at Purdue Marc Lebryk-USA TODAY Sports

Two major awards celebrating the nations top point and shooting guard both released watch lists earlier this week.

The Bob Cousy Award is awarded to the nations top point guard and posted 20 candidates to their preseason watchlist.

Making the cut from the Big Ten were several point guards:

  • Ayo Dosunmu (Illinois)
  • Anthony Cowan Jr. (Maryland)
  • Zavier Simpson (Michigan)
  • Cassius Winston (Michigan State)

The Bob Cousy Award was first awarded in 2004 and several Big Ten players have taken home the award. Most recently Trey Burke won the award in 2013, while Dee Brown won in 2006. Maryland’s Greivis Vasquez also won the award in 2010, but the Terps were still a part of the ACC then.

Earlier this week they also announced a watch list for the Jerry West Award.

The award originated in 2015 and is awarded to the nation’s top collegiate shooting guard. In the awards five year history two Big Ten players have taken home the award, with Carsen Edwards earning the accolade in 2018 and D’Angelo Russell in 2015.

Making the cut from the Big Ten for the watch list were several players including:

  • Trent Frazier (Illinois)
  • Joe Wieskamp (Iowa)
  • Joshua Langford (Michigan State)