clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Eight Big Ten Players Make Watch List For Wooden Award

Several Big Ten players are on the watch list for this year’s Wooden Award.

NCAA Basketball: Chicago State at Indiana Trevor Ruszkowski-USA TODAY Sports

Earlier this week, the watch list was released for this year’s Wooden Award and eight Big Ten players were fortunate enough to make the cut. They were the following players:

  • Carsen Edwards (Purdue)
  • Ethan Happ (Wisconsin)
  • Romeo Langford (Indiana)
  • Charles Matthews (Michigan)
  • Juwan Morgan (Indiana)
  • James Palmer (Nebraska)
  • Nick Ward (Michigan State); and
  • Cassius Winston (Michigan State).

The Wooden Award is given to the best player in college basketball for a given season. Previous winners from the Big Ten include Trey Burke, Frank Kaminsky, and Evan Turner. The last player from the league to win the award was Kaminsky.

Other candidates include Duke’s RJ Barrett, Syracuse’s Tyus Battle, and Villanova’s Phil Booth. You can see the full list here.