clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

CBS Sports Classic renewed for three more years

The four team showcase will feature Ohio State, UCLA, Kentucky, and North Carolina

NCAA Basketball: Florida Atlantic at Ohio State Joe Maiorana-USA TODAY Sports

This Saturday, the college basketball world will focus their attention on the CBS Sports Classic. The showcase will take place at the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas and will feature four powerhouse programs. Suiting up for the event will be the Ohio State Buckeyes, UCLA Bruins, Kentucky Wildcats, and North Carolina Tar Heels.

The event will consist of two games, both being played on Saturday December, 17th. UCLA will play Ohio State and Kentucky will play North Carolina.

So far, the CBS Sports Classic has been a resounding success. This year’s classic will be the third of its kind, the first two were played with the same four teams in Chicago and Brooklyn, respectively. CBS has decided to make this an annual event, extending the four-team classic through 2019. The same four teams playing this year will also play in the event going forward.

Next year, the CBS Sports Classic will head to the “Big Easy”, playing their games at the Smoothie King Center in New Orleans. The match-ups for 2017-18 will be Ohio St.-UNC and Kentucky-UCLA. Locations for 2018 and 2019 have not been announced yet.

With their upset-loss to Florida Atlantic on December 6th, the Buckeyes fell five spots in the most recent BTPowerhouse rankings. The team will carry an 8-2 record into Saturday’s game against UCLA.

The Bruins are currently ranked No.2 in the nation. Kentucky and North Carolina are also ranked in the Top-10 nationally.