clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wisconsin Badgers Center Frank Kaminsky Wins 2015 John R. Wooden Award

Another award for Frank Kaminsky after an impressive senior season.

Bob Donnan-USA TODAY Sports

In "news" that shouldn't be a huge surprise, Wisconsin center Frank Kaminsky was announced as the winner of the 2015 John R. Wooden Award. The award had came down to the Wisconsin star and Duke's Jahlil Okafor who finished second.

The results were as follows:

1. Frank Kaminsky (Wisconsin)
2. Jahlil Okafor (Duke)
3. Willie Cauley-Stein (Kentucky)
4. Jerian Grant (Notre Dame)
5. D'Angelo Russell (Ohio State)
6. Kyle Wiltjer (Gonzaga)
7. Seth Tuttle (Northern Iowa)
8. Delon Wright (Utah)
9. Ron Baker (Wichita State)
10. Malcolm Brogdon (Virginia)

Kaminsky takes home the award after returning to Madison for his senior season, capping off an impressive career with 18.8 points, 8.2 rebounds, 2.6 assists and 1.5 blocks per game this season as he helped lead the Badgers to the national title game. Kaminsky was also named the Associated Press Player of the Year, as well as winning the Naismith College Player of the Year award and being named a consensus first-team All-American.

In an interesting twist, though, the announcement declaring Kaminsky the winner of the John R. Wooden award was accidentally announced prematurely. However, when all is said and done the award was slightly anti-climatic anyways as most people had the Big Ten star bringing it home anyway.